Cranberry Vanilla Almond Granola

I recently went to my blog to get some ideas for dinner, food, anything. I was underwhelmed. This leads me to the conclusion that I need to get more of my go-to recipes up so I can get myself out of that food rut when needed. I’ll start with this granola recipe that I make once a month or so. Each month, I google “Martha Stewart maple granola” then try to remember the modifications I like to make to it. Let’s just make it easy and get it all down in one place. And maybe you’ll try it and enjoy it to 🙂DSCN1930

This is the first granola I had ever made and I love it so much I am going to stick with it. Thanks to Martha Stewart and a little tweaking, it is perfect. Sweet, crunchy, flavorful and healthy. I like to eat it with yogurt and fruit but it would be equally good plain and by the handfuls or smothered in milk. DSCN1807

The Recipe: adapted from Martha Stewart’s Maple Granola

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup almonds, slivered, sliced or chopped
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup walnut or canola oil
  • 1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup dried unsweetened coconut flakes

 

The Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Mix together oats, almonds, syrup, oil, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, salt, and nutmeg.
  2. Spread granola in an even layer on a rimmed baking sheet.
  3. Bake, stirring every 10 minutes, for 40 minutes.
  4. Add cranberries, and coconut and bake until granola is toasted, about 10 minutes more. Let cool completely.

DSCN1938DSCN1929

Leave a Reply

