Strawberry Spinach Salad

Disclaimer: I am in no way trying to be a food blog. I just have this tendency of tweaking (and tweaking) recipes then immediately forgetting how I changed them. Then I go to make dinner and A) I can’t think of anything to make and B) I forget those little changes that made this or that recipe sooooo good. Writing them down here helps me combat both uninspired cooking and forgetfulness.DSCN1383 Summer has lingered long here in Portland. Every 80 degree day feels like it will be the last. So you where those sandals *for the last time or play in the sprinkler *for the last time or make that summer dish *for the last time. But then another one rolls around. No complaints here. But for reals, I think those days are over now. While I’m happy to leave the 90 degree plus days behind us, I’m not so happy to leave the flavors behind. Here’s one last go at it before letting it go til next year. This salad is easy, delicious and best when strawberries are at their peak. Here’s my version: DSCN1393

The Recipe:

  • 4 cups spinach
  • 1 lb sliced strawberries
  • 1/2 cup sliced or chopped, toasted almonds
  • 2 granny smith apples, finely diced
  • 1/2-1 cup cucumber, seeded and finely diced
  • poppy seed dressing: whisk together 2 Tbl sugar, 1/2 tsp kosher salt (more to taste), 2 T bl plus 1 tsp fresh lime juice, 1/2 tsp, dry mustard, 1 Tbl finely chopped onion, 1/2 cup vegetable or walnut oil, 1 Tbl poppy seeds

The Method

There isn’t much of a method, just layer in the order above. I like to leave some berries, apples, cucumbers and almonds aside when tossing with dressing. Once tossed, top with those ingredients put aside to keep things beautiful. And remember not to toss with dressing until right before serving so it doesn’t get soggy.

DSCN1386Yum!

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Spinach Salad

Leave a Reply

