Sesame Noodles

DSCN2359
Steamy goodness overcoming the lens

SO GOOD. I make these noodles about once a month otherwise I go into withdrawal. My sister Linnea and I discovered this recipe somewhere so I should be giving proper cred but I can’t remember where it came from. All I know is that once these sesame noodles entered my life, I knew that I was never giving them up.

DSCN2342First things first. It’s all about the sauce. And if you’re making sauce including soy sauce, it best be Kikkoman. If you really know me, you know I have a passion for Kikkoman soy sauce. There is just no other way.

DSCN2337
My copy of the recipe from Linnea

The Recipe

  • 9 oz Chinese style pasta or spaghetti (Udon noodles are my fave)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 Tbl sugar
  • 2 Tbl minced garlic
  • 3 Tbl rice vinegar
  • 3 Tbl sesame oil
  • 3 Tbl vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp siracha sauce, optional (I leave out for the kids and add on top for myself)
  • 4 sliced green onions, optional
  • 3 Tbl toasted sesame seeds, optional

 

The Method

  1. Cook noodles just under package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, make sauce by combining soy sauce, sugar, garlic, vinegar, sesame and veggie oils. I usually make a double recipe, coat noodles to taste then save the rest for other things (as a dipping sauce, on top of brown rice, etc.)
  3. Toss noodles with sauce and half the sesame seeds and green onion. Top with the rest of the sesame seeds and green onion.

DSCN2345  DSCN2356This time I used some extra sauce as a gyoza dipping sauce along with the noodles.

DSCN2362Trust me, you need these in your life.

Leave a Reply

